About Us

Aerial photo of Kirkbymoorside by Steve Hailey

Kirkbymoorside & District Camera Club meet in the market town of Kirkbymoorside on the edge of the beautiful North York Moors National Park. We pride ourselves on being a friendly club where anyone with an interest in photography is made welcome, be they beginner or a more experienced photographer.

The club meets at 7:30pm on the first and third Thursdays of each month, in the Moorside Bar & Club, Shaw Drive, Kirkbymoorside, YO62 6PS (previously The British Legion Club). The club season starts in September and runs throughout the year. Please note these meetings are temporarily suspended due to Covid-19.

Members join for a variety of reasons, so the club strives to meet the needs and interests of all. We have a mixture of visiting speakers, talks from our club members and competitions, also during the summer months we have outings and an annual exhibition.

In addition to having a varied programme of club nights, the club runs a Special Interest group held on the second Thursday of each month (except July/August) which meets at 7:30pm at Wrelton Village Hall. At these meetings members share and review images and learn new camera and computer techniques.

Our members are involved in a wide variety of photographic genres, from Landscape, to Nature, Portraiture and Creative in both colour and monochrome. You don’t need sophisticated or specialised camera equipment to be a member of Kirkbymoorside Camera Club, one of the joys of the club is that it is not ‘equipment orientated’.

If you would like to know more about Kirkbymoorside & District Camera Club, please email us at secretary@kirkbymoorside-camera-club.co.uk or come along to one of our meetings.
The club is a member of the Yorkshire Photographic Union (YPU) and is affiliated to the Photographic Alliance of Great Britain (PAGB).

Club Committee

PresidentDavid Ireland APAGB DPAGB LRPS BPE1*
ChairHarry Kingman
Vice ChairColin Dilcock
TreasurerBarrie Tuck
SecretaryLiz Bassindale
Programme Secretary
Competition SecretaryIvan Martin
External Competitions Secretary Julie Cowdy
Exhibition SecretaryRichard Burdon
CommitteeJim Cavanagh
 John Clifton
 Iain Leadley